It’s Come To That

I’m starting to think,
that dreams are nothing more than meaningless wishes.
Things that will never come to be.
A bit past late,
but I’m really starting to see.
Becoming as cynical as one can dream to be.
But I’m glad this world has opened these clouded eyes.
Now I’ve realized that the world will never treat me the way I treat it.
Being a selfless person was who I thought I was born to become.
I hope I can finally put me in front of every living thing.

© Duc Nguyen WordsOnEmptyEars, 2016

Published by


Responses

  1. thehoudinian Avatar
    thehoudinian

    Very interesting thoughts.

  2. irohgoldman Avatar
    irohgoldman

    Definitely an interesting perspective.

  3. Emily Avatar
    Emily

    I really liked reading this and I can definitely relate to the cynical feelings. I liked how there was still light at the end with your hopes of being selfless.

  4. Malctg - The Foureyed Poet. Avatar
    Malctg – The Foureyed Poet.

    Hi wordonemptyears Life is never easy but I know that I am better off than so many so just take a day at a time and appreciate each one! Thank you for liking my poem “The Slayers-Endless Fight!” Best Wishes. The Foureyed Poet.

  5. doubtpuppet Avatar
    doubtpuppet

    Amen – I heard that!

Leave a comment