e·phem·er·al

I’m sitting here realizing how much you mean to me.
I never thought a friend could have such an impact on me.
I may always put up a front,
acting like my edges are rough and being someone who lives life as if it was tough.
Saying this life is nothing and believing the ones around me could hardly affect me.
But I’m learning so much when I’m with you.
You’re so subtly helping.
Whether you can see it or not.
We’ve been in and out of friends a lot.
And I’m starting to understand,
you’re someone that I could only count with one hand.
And if it’s possible,
This time, I’ll make a stand if you ever decide to drift apart once again.

© Duc Nguyen WordsOnEmptyEars, 2016

4 thoughts on “e·phem·er·al

  1. You are speaking to my soul again. I love how you love the use of words with the interplay of emotion and imagery. Then, there is what lies between the lines that never fades.

Leave a Reply

