You are Diamonds and I’m the Rough

I don’t have a fancy degree.
I lack the career you always saw as relationship’s fact.
Your perspectives,
aren’t they a bit too practical?
I’m a creative mind,
and what’s important to me are the feelings inside of me.
Instead of the successful life you expect.
Isn’t the way I feel for you enough?
In all honesty,
I would have sacrificed every bit of me,
to remain and maintain that smile on your face.
And now you’ll never know if it was all just a bluff.

© Duc Nguyen WordsOnEmptyEars, 2016

2 thoughts on “You are Diamonds and I’m the Rough

Leave a Reply

