Precede As You Would

My mind’s traveling at the speed of time.
Forgetting this identity of mine.
Never wanting to inflict the pain I once knew,
on someone else’s singular moment of being a fool.
It’s as if I’m stuck in an ongoing self trance.
Steadily heading on this steady mindset.
Setting this heart of mine on it’s only preset.
Contributing to my own self-reject.
Maintaining a beautiful smile,
along with all their beautiful reasoned faces.
At only a cost of my own reason to why I live.
It’s something I’ve began to become so familiar with.
Treading at the same pace I’ve been so accustomed to.
I guess I’m the only real fool.

© Duc Nguyen WordsOnEmptyEars, 2016

Published by


Responses

  1. anitalubesh Avatar
    anitalubesh

    I noticed the missing apostrophe going in – not to detract from an enjoyable write. Thanks for the ‘like’. I will be back to read more.

  2. Clarivoyance2889 Avatar
    Clarivoyance2889

    Your poetry sounds a lot like rap. You should see if you or get a friend to rap this and put these up a short rap videos channel. It’s really good. And try doing more subject based stuff rather than just emotions.. you have a way with words it’s nice. 🙂

Leave a comment